Bit o’ Honey ~ the little things that please

The little things that please . . .

Sprouts!

with one comment

 

Mmmm.  I feel healthy already ~

Finally, a terrific way to use those left over jars of spaghetti sauce.  These are mung bean sprouts.  I grew them under my bathroom sink.  After soaking 1/4 cup of cleaned beans in water I rinsed them twice a day for about 4 days, letting them drain each time in a shallow bowl under the sink.  I can’t believe I’ve never tried this before.  Outside of a boiled egg, I can’t think of food easier to prepare.  If you don’t mind the mildly bitter taste, which is really its appeal, you can practically substitute it for lettuce.   If you’re like me and don’t have an outdoor garden, growing sprouts gives you the same satisfaction of watching a seed push its way through soil.  

Written by Janie

June 7, 2008 at 1:08 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a lovely posting! Nice photo and sincere, simple thoughts about living!
    Thanks!

    Dan

    Dan Robinson

    June 27, 2008 at 11:18 am


Leave a Reply

