Bit o’ Honey ~ the little things that please

The little things that please . . .

Fourth of July in 5 Photos

with 2 comments

Never one for crowds and noises sounding like gunfire, I opted out of the typical Fourth of July celebrations and headed up to the farm with my friend PB for the afternoon.  I was happy to see how well the onion patch was doing since my last visit.

Mighty fine!

 

 

We hoed and weeded and planted cucumbers. 

The cukes enjoyed a nap in the sun.

 

 

I thought it fitting we planted the National Pickling Cucumber on the Fourth of July.   It seemed my patriotic duty to set them in the ground.

Who knew this humble vegetable held national status?

 

 

I received the first installment of my share.  

This is something to celebrate!

 

 

I started a new window to include in the “Work of the Hand” show this fall at the Center for Maine Contemporary Art.

The break in the amber piece going up from the left corner was a fortunate accident.  It works.

 

Mr. Baker and I took a walk in the neighborhood then came home in time for Jeopardy.

Strawberries for supper. 

 

Happy Summer!

 

 

 

Written by Janie

July 4, 2008 at 12:29 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a beautiful piece. I would love to see it in person– but alas I am way over here in California (with 103 degree temperatures no less). What a wonderful way to spend the 4th- and a great payment for your gardening.

    bluebicicletta

    July 9, 2008 at 8:04 am

  2. Just have to share a serendipitous finding! As I was scrolling through your blogs, I happened to see the above window with the bottom cropped so that the resulting format is nearly square (Hasselblad comes to mind – though I never had one – I did have a Yashicamat). One of those beautify curved lines finds its way to just above the lower left corner of the resulting frame. The one photography class that I took some twenty years ago impressed a few things on me – one of which was to pay really close attention to what is happening at the edges of the composition. You might not like it, but I find the balance of the colors and the flow to be a little more pleasing somehow. Really love checking in on you blog once in awhile! Dan

    Dan Robinson

    July 31, 2008 at 12:23 pm


Leave a Reply

