Bit o’ Honey ~ the little things that please

The little things that please . . .

Tree of Life ~ The Installation

with 2 comments

It’s done!  

 

The metalsmith, A, made an exquisite frame.

The steel was darkened with “gunmetal blue” patina.

 

After a few last minute changes (the overlays had to be removed . . . darn!) we delivered the window at 6 p.m. the evening before the hospital’s opening ceremony.

A and his wife were a great help!

 

 

There was no lack of pomp and circumstance on opening day.

 

 

A circus too?

 

Governor Baldacci and Barbara Bush were there!  

How sweet of Barbara to come just to see my window!

 

The meditation room of the Infant’s and Children’s Wing.

The new home.

 

This has truly been the most challenging job I’ve ever attempted and I’m so grateful for the opportunity.  That I’ve completed it to the best of my ability gives me a great sense of accomplishment.  Despite some misgivings over particular aspects of its design, I’m thoroughly honored to have the window reside in such an important setting.  To know the public may find hope and comfort in the work at a most stressful time in their lives is the most meaningful part of the whole experience. 

Finally, I leave the window in its new home and turn my attention to other projects.  Thanks to all the support I received from members of the committee, from R whom I work with who gave me so much good advice, from A who made the window complete with the perfect frame, from bloggers who responded so positively to my posts.  And thanks to my family, who answered all my late night phone calls and cheered me on.

 

Peace.

 

 

 

 

Written by Janie

September 7, 2008 at 8:55 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks beautiful! Wow, what a big event–that must have been so great to see your work in such a public place where so many people will get to appreciate it!

    Nicole

    September 11, 2008 at 8:45 am

  2. Stunning work. I have always been fascinated by stained glass. I really like those two pink leaves amidst the green (though green is still the best color in the world). Thank you for sharing the evolution of your art!

    Leah

    May 17, 2010 at 12:08 pm


Leave a Reply

