Bit o’ Honey ~ the little things that please

The little things that please . . .

Blessings

with one comment

 

“Meaure wealth by the things we can afford to do without.”  From Rev. Tim Jensen’s Oct. 12th sermon at the Unitarian Universalist Church in Portland, Maine.

___________________________________________

 

It’s a good time to consider what I can do without.  I can easily do without a T.V.  I can do without buying CDs and new books; the library will suffice.  I can do without my favorite bottle of Australian red, though I treat myself every couple of weeks to a glass at Blue.  I can do without a car and shopping at the mall, without tanning salons and botox.  I can do without fancy meals in swanky restaurants, but I do love iton the rare occasion I have them.  Most of all,  I can do without the news.

I’ve put a moratorium on the news.  The news only reminds me of the things I can’t control, and I don’t need to be reminded of that.  I’ve known it for years.  Listening to the news makes me feel small and full of fear.  I  am none of those things.  So when I hear the news, I change the channel.  I listen to classical or jazz, anything but the news.  I’ve even been snagged by the worst country music.  Those corny lyrics make me laugh, and I can’t afford to do without that.

I measure my wealth every day, and every day I’m grateful.  I have a beautiful home in a great city, work I love, wonderful friends and family, a strong body and quick mind.  It’s more than enough to get through this life.   

So keeping today’s sermon in mind, I biked hard around the Back Cove and Eastern Promenade, because I can’t do without the sweat and breath of physical activity.  I called my parents and my brothers, because they are anchors in my life.  And I cooked and cooked until the windows steamed over, because food does more than fill my stomach.  It fills me with joy and pleasure, and who can do without that?

  

Carrot-squash soup!

 

 

Roasted beets!

 

 

Pasta sauce!

 

 

Steamed cabbage  . . .

 

 

Stuffed and baked!

 

 

Everyone’s talking about the news, measuring their losses.  But I say it’s time to count our blessings and remember just how wealthy we are. 

 

 

Maybelline says, “What me worry?”

 

Keep counting . . .

 

 

Written by Janie

October 13, 2008 at 8:38 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree in a big way—especially about cooking! I just did some baking myself! I find cooking and eating to be one of the best ways to appreciate being alive.

    bluebicicletta

    October 13, 2008 at 9:58 am


Leave a Reply

